The IPHC currently employs 68 staff, consisting of 31 permanent staff, 36 temporary field staff (port samplers and sea samplers), and 1 intern.

The IPHC is considered a public international organization and is entitled to the privileges, exemptions, and immunities conferred by the International Organizations Immunities Act (22 U.S.C. Sec. 288), except those pursuant to Sections 4(b), 4(e), and 5 (a) of that Act by virtue of U.S. Presidential Executive Order 11059. As an international organization, the IPHC is not restricted by the nationality of candidates.

IPHC Position Vacancies

IPHC Consultant offers

No current offers

IPHC Fishery-independent Setline Survey

Sea Sampler Position

The IPHC typically employs 25-30 seasonal field biologists, also known as sea samplers, to work the fishery-independent setline survey running annually from late May through early September. Generally, two to three sea samplers are deployed on each vessel. They work as a team collecting a suite of biological and oceanographic data used to manage and monitor the Pacific halibut fishery. The job announcement is normally posted in early March. To learn more, visit Working as a Sea Sampler.

Vessels Charters for Survey and Research

The IPHC is always seeking commercial Pacific halibut fishing vessels to conduct our annual FISS. Vessels need not be licensed for Pacific halibut fishing in Canada or the U.S.A. to be eligible. The IPHC is not restricted as to nationality of the vessels it charters for operation in any region as long as customs and immigration regulations are followed. The IPHC will consider only those vessels with captains and crews that have recent (within 5 years) Pacific halibut fishing experience. Most areas require vessels that have adequate deck space and suitable accommodations for two to three IPHC employees. For more information on submitting bids for the IPHC’s FISS work, visit Survey Vessel Recruiting.

Bids must be received at the IPHC office in Seattle by 12:00 noon (Pacific Time) on Monday, 12 March 2018.

Fishery-Independent Setline Survey Bid Spec Package:

Document Title PDF Availability
IPHC-2018-FISS-BID01 2018 IPHC Fishery-Independent Setline Surveys: Vessel Bid Specifications pdf.gif 16 Feb 2018
IPHC-2018-FISS-BID02 2018 Survey Maps pdf.gif 16 Feb 2018
IPHC-2018-FISS-BID03 2018 Survey Information - Station coordinates and previous catch pdf.gif 16 Feb 2018
IPHC-2018-FISS-BID04 2018 Vessel Tender Form pdf.gif 16 Feb 2018
IPHC-2018-NR002 2018-02 IPHC Requests Charter Bids for the 2018 Fishery-Independent Setline Survey pdf.gif 16 Feb 2018

Licensed Pacific Halibut Buyers

Pacific halibut sampled on FISS trips are sold at the end of each trip and proceeds are used to offset the cost of conducting the FISS. To be alerted to upcoming fish-buying opportunities, please complete the Interested Buyer’s Form.

IPHC Internships

No current internship openings

IPHC Merit Scholarships

No current scholarship offers. Next offer will open in March-June 2018.

The IPHC funds several Merit Scholarships to support university, technical college, and other post-secondary education. The scholarship fund has been established to assist the further education of Canadian and U.S.A. students connected to the Pacific halibut fishery. Generally, a single new scholarship valued at $4,000 (USD) per year is awarded every two years. The scholarships are renewable annually for the normal four-year period of undergraduate education, subject to maintenance of satisfactory academic performance. A Scholarship Committee composed of industry and Commission representatives reviews applications and determines recipients based on academic qualifications, career goals, and relationship to the halibut industry.

Past and Current Recipients:

Recipient Home Town Initial Year
Ms. Ysabel Echeverio Stevensville, MT 2016
Ms. Shalie Dahl Petersburg, AK 2015
Ms. Katie Koolman Sooke, B.C. 2014
Mr. Spencer Lunda Juneau, AK 2013
Mr. Jamie Nightingale Delta, B.C. 2012
Mr. John Scott Girdwood, AK 2011
Ms. Candace Schaack Cold Bay, AK 2010
Mr. Ryder Whitmire Homer, AK 2009
Mr. Parker MacClelland Port Townsend, WA 2009
Mr. Joel Thomas Port Townsend, WA 2008
Mr. Myron Melovidov Jr. St. Paul, AK 2007
Mr. Dylan Hardie Courtenay, B.C. 2006
Mr. Tyler Jones Mount Vernon, WA 2005
Mr. Casey Knight Petersburg, AK 2004
Mr. Lawren Best Sooke, B.C. 2003
Ms. Elise Pletnikoff Kodiak, AK 2002