Management Strategy Advisory Board (MSAB)

At the 2013 Annual Meeting, the International Pacific Halibut Commission advanced the development of a Management Strategy Evaluation (MSE) program for the halibut resource. The Commission approved the formation of a Management Strategy Advisory Board (MSAB) to oversee the MSE process and to advise the Commission and Staff on the development and evaluation of candidate objectives and strategies for managing the fishery. The MSE process will help the Commission develop and thoroughly test alternative management procedures, prior to actually implementing any management changes for the fishery.

This webpage is where the MSAB will post its news for the public.  References for the IPHC MSE process, as well as reports from each of the MSAB meetings, can be found here

Scroll down this page to see the membership of the MSAB. The public is encouraged to comment or provide input to the MSE process directly via the Board members.

MSAB Members

The Commission appreciates the broad interest expressed in participation on the MSAB. The suite of nominations was impressive and the Commission selected a Board of 24 official and ex-officio members representing viewpoints from commercial, sport, processing, Tribal/First Nations, and Fisheries Councils and managers. The Commission was pleased to make these selections for the Board and is extremely grateful to all of those who were willing to participate in this initiative.

The current MSAB members and ex-officio representatives are:

MEMBER COUNTRY SECTOR CONTACT
Bruce Gabrys U.S. Commercial Bruce.Gabrys@iphc.info
Jeff Kauffman U.S. Commercial Jeff.Kauffman@iphc.info
Per Odegaard U.S. Commercial Per.Odegaard@iphc.info
Dan Falvey U.S. Commercial Dan.Falvey@iphc.info
Chris Sporer CDN Commercial Chris.Sporer@iphc.info
Robert Hauknes CDN Commercial Robert.Hauknes@iphc.info
Jim Lane CDN First Nations Jim.Lane@iphc.info
Scott Mazzone U.S. Treaty Tribes Scott.Mazzone@iphc.info
Adam Keizer CDN DFO Manager Adam.Keizer@iphc.info
Rachel Baker U.S. NMFS Manager Rachel.Baker@iphc.info
Robyn Forrest CDN Sci. Advisor Robyn.Forrest@iphc.info
Carey McGilliard U.S. Sci. Advisor Carey.McGilliard@iphc.info
Michele Culver U.S. PFMC Michele.Culver@iphc.info
Craig Cross U.S. NPFMC Craig.Cross@iphc.info
Scott Meyer U.S. ADF&G Sport Scott.Meyer@iphc.info
Peggy Parker U.S./CDN Processing Peggy.Parker@iphc.info
John Woodruff U.S. Processing John.Woodruff@iphc.info
Brad Mirau CDN Processing Brad.Mirau@iphc.info
Tom Marking U.S. Sport Tom.Marking@iphc.info
Martin Paish CDN Sport Martin.Paish@iphc.info